How To Know If You Are Blocked On Instagram
The question of “How can you tell if someone blocked you on Instagram?” comes up very often. (Especially since Instagram doesn’t notify its users when they get blocked by someone.) Thus, we shall provide a clearer answer to the question and talk more about blocking on Instagram in this article.
How Do You Know If Someone Blocked You On Instagram
There are a few tricks you can always use to check whether someone blocked you on Instagram. If you think someone blocked you, you should follow the steps below.
- Search for someone’s profile you want to see if he/she blocked you. If his/her username doesn’t appear in the results, it is possible that the user blocked you.
- Open up your browser to see if the user still has the same username.
- Go to your direct messages and see if the chat threads from this person still exist. If so, you are no blocked. If they are missing, however, it is possible that the user blocked you.
How To Know If You Are Not Blocked On Instagram
Please keep in mind that instead of blocking you, the user might have just deactivated his/her profile or changed his/her username.
In the case of public profiles: If you see the profile and the posts of someone, then you can be sure that this person didn’t block you.
In the case of private profiles: If you see a message saying ‘This Account is Private’, you are not blocked by this user. What this message means is that the person either hasn’t accepted your follow request yet or removed you from his/her followers.
What Happens When Someone Blocks You on Instagram
Likes and Comments
You will no longer have access to this person’s profile, posts, and stories. However, your likes and comments on his/her posts will remain. (That doesn’t mean he/she can’t remove them one-by-one though.)
Furthermore, you can still see this person’s likes and comments on posts shared by public accounts or accounts he/she follows.
You can still mention this person’s username, however, he/she won’t be able to see it. On the other hand, if he/she changes the username, you won’t be able to mention anymore unless you know the new username.
You can still send direct messages to this person, but, he/she won’t be able to receive or send anything. (This includes the content of the messages and notifications.) On the other hand, if the person decides to unblock you, she/he can receive the messages you will send from that moment on and respond to them.
If this person is in a group that you are a part of, then he/she will have to decide whether he/she wants to stay. If he/she decides to do so, then he/she can see the messages that you wrote in the group chat.